I’m back!

While I was pondering what I should write about on The News of Sports, I realized that it was simple. So much has gone on since the last post (not including the “Sorry” message), including the scandal and firing of Joe Paterno, Tiger Woods leading the Australian Open after 2 rounds (he shot a 75 Saturday and is now 6 strokes back of the leader), the Cardinals winning the World Series (I know, I can’t believe I didn’t cover that at all either), and the continued NBA Lockout. I can’t tell you how happy I am to be back to The News of Sports and expect much, much more new material now than what I’ve had in the last 2-3 months (which has been inconsistent at best).

Before I go on, I just wanted to inform you that there’s been kind of a reason (excuse, really) I’ve been away from The News of Sports. I’ve been developing my other blogs (Fresh Fantasy Help, my fantasy sports blog, and Video Games Guide, my video games blog that focuses on sports video games) and have had good success. Fresh Fantasy Help, or FFH, which is at freshfantasyhelp.wordpress.com, please check it out, has had huge success recently. As I’ve been focusing on that blog a lot and there’s a lot of new material, viewership soared, and I’m celebrating my 2,000th hit (blog hit, which is obviously not as good as 2,000 MLB hits but I digress) which came yesterday! Not to brag or anything, but I’m really excited. I know that 2,000 hits in what’s approaching a year of FFH isn’t that good, considering how much time there is to reach that milestone, but I had under 1,000 hits on that blog a month and a half ago, and I’m proud of that.

Also, Video Games Guide has done better, although not as well as FFH. It’s because there’s not always consistently good information and news out there about specifically sports and other video games (meaning Mario and other, but not shooter games, which I’m not a huge fan of for no real reason other than it just doesn’t interest me). Read it at videogamesguide.wordpress.com. In terms of readership, it’s hovering around only 770, but for a third-string blog, pretty much, in terms of the amount of posts, it’s doing alright.

I forgot to do this 6 days ago, on the actual date, but The News of Sports turned 1 year old! When I started The News of Sports I didn’t know what to expect, I knew and loved sports but had never publicly wrote about them, and I had no idea how popular it would be. Let me say this, even though I haven’t wrote nearly as much as I would’ve wanted to, especially in the last 1/4 of the year, the amount of readership has shattered my expectations. Thank you so much for contributing to The News of Sports by reading and commenting. To be honest, I wasn’t exactly sure that The News of Sports would even last a whole year! At times, there were obstacles where I didn’t think I’d be able to continue any of my blogs.

Also, I never anticipated how fun blogging would be. Most of that fun is from talking to other bloggers through many ways, whether it be email, comments on each other’s blogs, and other formats. Another way has been Bloggers League, the fantasy football league I created before the season on ESPN.com that has been so great and a LOT of fun (by the way I recap trades and other occurrences on FFH). Thanks to all who are involved in that and I’m thinking of a baseball league as well in April. All of these ways of communication have kept me blogging through a lack of time at certain points and have made blogging enjoyable.

I started FFH and VGG in late December/beginning January, and I didn’t realize, which I should’ve, that blogging one blog is hard, but 3 blogs? Very hard. Believe me, running three blogs is very hard, but I’m happy to have survived it for almost a full year.

One last thing. I’m debating about what type of posts I should put on The News of Sports. I started out with smaller, news type sports posts, but then I felt it’s a little boring, so then I moved to longer but still only 400-500 word posts a little less frequently with opinions. From reading all sorts of blogs, from Chris Ross’ Painting the Black, with longer opinionated posts, along with a lot of other blogs, like The Brooklyn Buckeye, to To The Point Sports, where there’s a question with “points” based on opinions, which are very short, I’ve seen many different types of blogs. Which one do you like best?

Enough about me and my blogs. Once again, welcome back to The News of Sports, and this time I can promise you that posts will be plentiful. My goal was to post every day when I started this blog, and I’m not going to give on that goal. Without further ado, thanks for reading The News of Sports and having great patience and I hope you enjoy my new posts!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to I’m back!

  1. Pingback: MLB paris pics: Optimum baseball ratings | Baseball Betting

  2. Bobby Charts says:

    Good to see your happy first and foremost, second glad to read your stuff. I feel you completely about what to write on how many posts and how long. Ive went back and forth as well, bottom linr your a great person and have a great blog all the rest will work out and be fine. Keep it up Nik! Bobby

  3. caniacwiz says:

    Keep it up, man. You’re the first (and sadly only still) subscriber to my blog, but one is better than none, and I’m sure it’ll grow! I’m still getting consistent viewers, so that’s what really matters. Just continue doing what you enjoy doing – it’s the only way you can keep up with the workload and still have fun.

  4. Bjake671 says:

    Hey Nik, congrats on 1 year. I think that longer articles would be better just to give more detail. How’s your book doing?

    • Hey Ben, thanks. Great, I appreciate the feedback. I’ll aim to post some longer posts more. Thanks so much for asking, the book’s doing great, I’m a little over halfway done, which fits perfectly with the calendar as I’m supposed to finish by the end of the month. I know it’s late in the month now, but you should really try NaNoWriMo. It’s fantastic and a lot of fun.

  5. I just know you are gonna make the playoffs. Good luck!!! God bless you

  6. Bheise says:

    Hey, happy anniversary/birthday for the news of sports. I had no idea your blog and mine we so close together in age… i sound like i’m talking about a kid or something haha

  7. Thanks for your kind words yesterday. Happy anniversay to The News Of Sports. Lots of good luck and continued sucess to you.

    http://fantasyfurnace.com

  8. Congrats on making it one year in blogging and for the increasing success of your sites.

    Keep posting what is interesting to you with your own unique take.

    Cheers!

  9. Pingback: Anniversary! | thenewsofsports

  10. Pingback: 09 fantasy baseball cheat sheet SP arrangement | Baseball Betting

Leave a Reply

