Lewis Hamilton wins 2011 German Grand Prix

Lewis Hamilton won his second race of the 2011 Formula One season with his triumph in Germany.

Lewis Hamilton won his second race of the 2011 Formula One season when he surprisingly won the German Grand Prix Sunday. Hamilton drove a flawless race, even going as far as to call it “easy” after he took the lead from Mark Webber at the beginning of the race and didn’t look back, earning his first win since his victory at the Chinese Grand Prix on April 17th. Hamilton silenced his critics with a well-driven win, and there was never much of a debate on who would win after Hamilton took over the lead. Red Bull driver Mark Webber placed third, and briefly led early on, but after lap 32, Hamilton took the lead for good. Ferrari driver Fernando Alonso finished second after a lengthy battle for the last spot on the podium with Red Bull driver Sebastian Vettel. Vettel, the points leader this season, failed to win in his home country. Adrian Sutil made Force India proud by finishing sixth. Jenson Button, the winner of the Canadian Grand Prix, failed to finish the race, retiring on Lap 35, and stayed at 109 points for the season.

Here are the final results for the German Grand Prix

1. Lewis Hamilton

2. Fernando Alonso

3. Mark Webber

4. Sebastian Vettel

5. Felipe Massa

6. Adrian Sutil

7. Nico Rosberg

8. Michael Schumacher

9. Kamui Kobayashi

10. Vitaly Petrov

11. Sergio Perez

12. Jaime Alguersuari

13. Paul di Resta

14. Pastor Maldonado

15. Sebastien Buemi

16. Heikki Kovalainen

17. Timo Glock

18. Jerome d’Ambrosio

19. Daniel Ricciardo

20. Karun Chandhok

Retired: Vitantonio Liuzzi

Retired: Jenson Button

Retired: Rubens Barrichello

Retired: Nick Heidfeld

Here is the updated driver points table

1. Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull Racing)

216 points

2. Mark Webber (Red Bull Racing)

139 points

3. Lewis Hamilton (McLaren)

134 points

4. Fernando Alonso (Ferrari)

130 points

5. Jenson Button (McLaren)

109 points

6. Felipe Massa (Ferrari)

62 points

7. Nico Rosberg (Mercedes)

46 points

8. Nick Heidfeld (Renault)

34 points

9. Vitaly Petrov (Renault)

32 points

10. Michael Schumacher (Mercedes)

32 points

11. Kamui Kobayashi (Sauber)

27 points

12. Adrian Sutil (Force India)

18 points

13. Jaime Alguersuari (Toro Rosso)

9 points

14. Sergio Perez (Sauber)

8 points

15. Sebastien Buemi (Toro Rosso)

8 points

16. Rubens Barrichello (Willliams)

4 points

17. Paul di Resta (Force India)

2 points

18. Pedro de la Rosa (Sauber)

0 points

19. Jarno Trulli (Lotus)

0 points

20. Vitantonio Luizzi (Hispania Racing Team)

0 points

21. Pastor Maldonado (Williams)

0 points

22. Jerome d’Ambrosio (Virgin)

0 points

23. Heikki Kovalainen (Lotus)

0 points

24. Timo Glock (Virgin)

0 points

25. Narain Karthikeyan (Hispania Racing Team)

0 points

26. Daniel Ricciardo (Hispania Racing Team)

0 points

27. Karun Chandhok (Lotus)

0 points


Here is the updated team points table.

1. Red Bull Racing

355 points

2. McLaren

243 points

3. Ferrari

192 points

4. Mercedes

78 points

5. Renault

66 points

6. Sauber

35 points

7. Force India

20 points

8. Toro Rosso

17 points

9. Williams

4 points

10. Lotus

0 points

11. Hispania Racing Team

0 points

12. Virgin

0 points

This entry was posted in Formula One, Formula One: Latest News. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lewis Hamilton wins 2011 German Grand Prix

  1. Pingback: Carspike.com

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s