Jenson Button wins Canadian Grand Prix

Jenson Button won the 2011 Canadian Grand Prix in a last minute thriller.

 Jenson Button emerged the unlikely winner Sunday at the Canadian Grand Prix, snatching victory from points leader Sebastian Button with half a lap to go to make up to his McLaren team, after knocking out teammate and fellow Briton Lewis Hamilton in the eighth lap. Vettel (Red Bull) led throughout the race, which was suspended for 2 hours and 5 minutes as Mother Nature ruled. Kamui Kobayashi faded after a strong start before the rain delay but finished 7th. Several other drivers failed to complete the race due to accidents in the slippery conditions, most notably Ferrari driver Fernando Alonso. Here are the final results at the Canadian Grand Prix.

1. Jensen Button

2. Sebastian Vettel

3. Mark Webber

4. Michael Schumacher

5. Vitaly Petrov

6. Felipe Massa

7. Kamui Kobayashi

8. Jaime Alguersuari

9. Rubens Barrichello

10. Sebastian Buemi

11. Nico Rosberg

12. Pedro de la Rosa

13. Vitantonio Liuzzi  

14. Jerome d’Ambrosio

15. Timo Glock

16. Jarno Trulli

17. Narain Karthikeyan

18. Paul di Resta

19. Pastor Maldonado (retired)

20. Nick Heidfeld (retired)

21. Adrian Sutil (retired)

22. Fernando Alonso (retired)

23. Heikki Kovalainen (retired)

24. Lewis Hamilton (retired)


Here is the updated driver and team points tables.

1. Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull Racing)

161 points

2. Jensen Button (McLaren)

101 points

3. Mark Webber (Red Bull Racing)

94 points

4. Lewis Hamilton (McLaren)

85 points

5. Fernando Alonso (Ferrari)

69 points

6. Felipe Massa (Ferrari)

32 points

7. Vitaly Petrov (Renault)

31 points 

8. Nick Heidfeld (Renault)

29 points

9. Michael Schumacher (Mercedes)

26 points

10. Nico Rosberg (Mercedes)

26 points

11. Kamui Kobayashi (Sauber)

25 points

12. Adrian Sutil (Force India)

8 points

13. Sebastien Buemi (Toro Rosso)

8 points

14. Jaime Alguersuari (Toro Rossi)

4 points

15. Rubens Barrichello (Williams)

4 points

16. Sergio Perez (Sauber)

2 points

17. Paul di Resta (Force India)

2 points

18. Pedro de la Rosa (Sauber)

0 points

19. Jarno Trulli (Lotus)

0 points

20. Vitantonio Liuzzi (Hispania Racing Team)

0 points

21. Jerome d’Ambrosio (Virgin)

0 points

22. Heikki Kovalainen (Lotus)

0 points

23. Timo Glock (Virgin)

0 points

24. Pastor Maldonado (Williams)

0 points

25. Narain Karthikeyan (Hispania Racing Team)


Team Points Table

1. Red Bull Racing

255 points

2. McLaren

186 points

3. Ferrari

101 points

4. Renault

60 points

5. Mercedes

52 points

6. Sauber

27 points

7. Torro Rossi

12 points

8. Force India

10 points

9. Williams

4 points

10. Lotus

0 points

11. Virgin

0 points

12. Hispania Racing Team

0 points


This entry was posted in Formula One, Formula One: Latest News. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jenson Button wins Canadian Grand Prix

  1. Bjake671 says:

    Hey I don’t think that most people care about formula one racing. It’s a good idea to cover all of the sports but no one cares about racing much less formula one

    • Actually a lot of people globally follow F1, including myself, I see what you’re saying, but I try to make my blog friendly to American sports fans, European Sports fans, every type of sports fan really. Thanks for the comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s