Vettel wins Monaco Grand Prix

Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull Racing) won the 2011 Monaco Grand Prix.

German Sebastian Vettel won the 2011 Monaco Grand Prix Sunday, and gambled toward the end of the race. Vettel decided to continue with worn tires, fearing he would be overtaken. In the end, the strategy worked, and Jaime Alguersuari and Vitaly Petrov were involved in a crash with six laps remaining. The crash gave Vettel the chance to pull away, and he did, winning his 5th race out of 6 this season, and continued his dominant season in his attempt to top the points table for the second consecutive season. Vettel was followed by Fernando Alonso (Ferrari), Jenson Button (McLaren), teammate Mark Webber (Red Bull Racing), and surprise Kamui Kobayashi (Sauber) rounding out the top 5. The first driver behind Vettel in the points table, Lewis Hamilton (McLaren), finished 6th. Here are the updated driver and team tables.

Driver Points Table

1. Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull Racing)

143 points

2. Lewis Hamilton (McLaren)

85 points

3. Mark Webber (Red Bull Racing)

79 points

4. Jenson Button (McLaren)

76 points

5. Fernando Alonso (Ferrari)

69 points

6. Nick Heidfeld (Renault)

29 points

7. Nico Rosberg (Mercedes)

26 points

8. Felipe Massa (Ferrari)

24 points

9. Vitaly Petrov (Renault)

21 points

10. Kamui Kobayashi (Sauber)

19 points

11. Michael Schumacher (Mercedes)

14 points

12. Adrian Sutil (Force India)

8 points

13. Sebastien Buemi (Toro Rosso)

7 points

14. Rubens Barrichello (Williams)

2 points

15. Sergio Perez (Sauber)

2 points

16. Paul di Resta (Force India)

2 points

17. Jaime Alguersuari (Toro Rossi)

0 points

18. Jarno Trulli (Lotus)

0 points

19. Heikki Kovalainen (Lotus)

0 points

20. Jerome d’Ambrosio (Virgin)

0 points

21. Pastor Maldonado (Williams)

0 points

22. Timo Glock (Virgin)

0 points

23. Vitantonio Liuzzi (Hispania Racing Team)

0 points

24. Narain Karthikeyan (Hispania Racing Team)


Team Points Table

1. Red Bull Racing

222 points

2. McLaren

161 points

3. Ferrari

93 points

4. Renault

50 points

5. Mercedes

40 points

6. Sauber

21 points

7. Force India

10 points

8. Toro Rossi

7 points

9. Williams

21 points

10. Lotus

0 points

11. Virgin

0 points

12. Hispania Racing Team

0 points

This entry was posted in Formula One, Formula One: Latest News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s