Let’s look back…

A LONG time ago, when this blog was first starting out, I put out an end-of-the-year awards post and predicted the Grand Slam winners for 2011. I chose Roger Federer to win the Australian Open and Wimbledon. I can now officially take that back 100%. I’m not positive at all that he can even win a single Grand Slam this year. I chose Rafael Nadal to win the US Open and the French Open. Now with the French Open starting today, I’ll put some contenders that I think can  take home the trophy. Note: Not all players will be categorized into the groups. Just notable players for the men and the women. My Pick: I’m sticking with Rafael Nadal, even with Djokovic lurking behind.

Men

Real Contenders

Rafael Nadal

Novak Djokovic

Possible Contenders

Roger Federer

Andy Murray

David Ferrer

Tomas Berdych

Robin Soderling

Juan Martin del Potro

Maybe’s

Gael Monfils

Nicolas Almagro

Fernando Verdasco

Jo-Wilfried Tsonga

Richard Gasquet

Watch Out For…

Mardy Fish

Stanislas Wawrinka

Milos Raonic

Jurgen Melzer

Thomaz Belucci

Alexandr Dolgopolov

Janko Tipsarevic

Nikolay Davydenko

Women

I picked Serena Williams to win the French Open. Hey, how could I have known that she would be injured for both the Australian Open and the French Open? I’m now adjusting my pick to… Kim Clijsters. I think she completes the “Kimmy Slam” and wins her first French Open. Yes, she’s hobbling around on one ankle, but with the ineffectiveness of world #1 Caroline Wozniacki and the inconsistency of the field, she’s got a very good chance. After all, she’s been so close a few times.

Real Contenders

Kim Clijsters

Caroline Wozniacki

Maria Sharapova

Victoria Azarenka

Possible Contenders

Francesca Schiavone

Sam Stosur

Li Na

Vera Zvonareva

Maybe’s 

Petra Kvitova

Jelena Jankovic

Marion Bartoli

Svetlana Kuznetsova

Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova

Watch Out For…

Julia Goerges

Flavia Pennetta

Shuai Peng

Nadia Petrova

Daniela Hantuchova

This entry was posted in Tennis, Tennis: Opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Let’s look back…

  1. Brad says:

    I like Djokovic and Stosur on the Clay this year. Nadal’s early trouble versus Isner I think will come back to haunt him. With Clijsters now out Stosur can hopefully break through.

    • I like Djokovic and Sharapova. The Djoker has been unstoppable, and Maria has stayed steady as Caroline Wozniacki, Kim Clijsters, and Vera Zvonareva have all gone down.

Leave a Reply

