ICC Cricket World Cup review

The 2011 ICC World Cup was great, and India's win over Sri Lanka capped off a magnificent tournament.

The ICC Cricket World Cup was a great edition, in my opinion. As a new cricket fan, this was my first World Cup, and I enjoyed every minute of it. Before this World Cup, I knew nothing, I mean nothing about cricket. I watched a few matches, picked up some of the lingo, and here I am: a cricket fan. The 2011 ICC World Cup was co-hosted by India, Bangladesh, and Sri Lanka. By the end, India had beaten Sri Lanka by 6 wickets to win the title for the second time ever, and the first time since 1983, when Kapil Dev was the captain. This time around, Mahendra Singh Dhoni was the captain, and certainly looked like it, scoring 91 runs not out en route to the Indian victory. A broader recap is here. The ICC World Cup was great to watch, and by the end I felt like I did after every FIFA World Cup: Why can’t it be more frequent?! But first, a few thoughts I would like to mention.

-Was this Sachin’s last ICC World Cup?

I’ve been pondering this question for quite a few days now. Part of me says, yes, because he went out on top, the way most athletes like to retire, got his first World Cup victory, and celebrated at home, in Mumbai. But then I think that he might want to get just one more crack at reaching 100 ODI centuries.

-10 team 2015 tournament

The 2015 International Cricket World Cup will be held in both Australia and New Zealand. There will be only 10 teams in the 2015 edition, less than 2011’s 14 teams. Why, you ask? In 2007, both India and Pakistan lost in the Group Stage, failing to make the next round. With those two teams went the attendance/TV ratings. Now, only the ten “Full members” will be playing, and no associate/affiliate members, such as Canada and Ireland. I don’t know about you, but I hate this move. I loved seeing Kevin O’Brien and Ireland knock off England, didn’t you? Now those moments will be gone. Players and fans complained that the tournament was too big, but come on, 4 teams isn’t going to make much of a difference! Don’t you want to see more upsets and possibly a associate member make it past the Group Stage?

-What’s next?

In cricket, the IPL (Indian Premier League) starts Friday when the defending champions Chennai Super Kings face off against the Kolkata Knight Riders. The season continues until May 28th, which is when the final is held.

This entry was posted in International Cricket, International Cricket: Latest News, International Cricket: Opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to ICC Cricket World Cup review

  1. unclemonkey says:

    I have never seen cricket but have always wanted to see what it was about. How did you watch? Online? I’ve never seen it on tv.

    • Cricket’s really easy to pick up and understand. It seems boring at first, but it’s actually really cool. I’m currently living overseas, and it was on local TV. Also, it was on espnstar.com as a live stream. It’s too bad it’s never on American TV, I never knew anything about it until moving.

  2. Yash says:

    The 100th run can also be made in any other ODI or 1 day international. This isn’t just the world cup. Sachin himself has said this is his last cup and he will play more but not in the next cup. I’m guessing Mumbai Indians vs. Chenai Super Kings will be the IPL finals.

Leave a Reply

