NCAA Tournament 2011 Preview: Women

Who will win the Women's NCAA Tournament?

I just have to say one thing about the logo. Am I wrong, or does the basketball look like a football? The lines on it look very similar to the stitches on a football, no? Anyway, sorry I did this preview a couple of days after the Women’s tournament started, but anyway, I
hope it’s not too late.

Introduction

The Women’s NCAA Tournament started Saturday, with a 99-34 Tennessee win over Stetson. Very much unlike the Men’s tournament, there is a favorite, and many at that. Connecticut, Tennessee, Baylor, and Stanford, the four #1 seeds, are clear-cut favorites. Will there be a surprise team? Maybe, but not likely. Hardly ever in the women’s game do you see a huge upset, which is so common in the men’s game. But enough about comparing the two tournaments. I compared it in the men’s tournament preview, and I’ll compare it here (didn’t I just say that I would stop comparing the two? Jeez). President Obama did his annual “Barack-etology”, (cheesy name, in my opinion), and his men’s bracket was very similar to mine. His women’s bracket is here. My bracket is below. Once again, mine is eerily similar to his. Kind of strange. Anyway, we have the same Final Four picks, but honestly, who didn’t pick all #1 seeds to make it? There’s no real sneaky teams that can reel in UConn or Baylor.

You might have to zoom in to get a better look at my bracket.

This is my bracket as it is, the green means I got it correct, the red means I got it wrong.

Results

Quick note: For the few games that have already been played, my predictions haven’t changed. Don’t worry, I’m no cheater: otherwise I wouldn’t have put up my bracket.

Philadelphia Region

In the Round of 64, I have #1 UConn over #16 Hartford, #8 Kansas State over #9 Purdue, #5 Georgetown over #12 Princeton, #4 Maryland over #13 St. Francis (Pennsylvania), #6 Penn State over #11 Dayton, #3 DePaul over #14 Navy, #7 Iowa State over #10 Marist, and #2 Duke over #15 Tennessee-Martin. In the Round of 32, I have #1 UConn over #8 Kansas State, #4 Maryland over #5 Georgetown, #3 DePaul over #6 Penn State, and #2 Duke over #7 Iowa State. In the Sweet Sixteen I have #1 UConn over #4 Maryland, and #2 Duke over #3 DePaul. In the Elite Eight I have #1 UConn over #2 Duke.

Headed to the Final Four: #1 UConn

Spokane Region

In the Round of 64, I have #1 Stanford over #16 University of California-Davis, #8 Texas Tech over #9 St. John’s, #5 UNC over #12 Fresno State, #4 Kentucky over #13 Hampton, #6 Iowa over #11 Gonzaga, #3 UCLA over #14 Montana, #7 Louisville over #10 Vanderbilt, and #2 Xavier over #15 South Dakota State. In the Round of 32 I have #1 Stanford over #8 Texas Tech, #5 UNC over #4 Kentucky, #3 UCLA over #6 Iowa, and #2 Xavier over #7 Louisville. In the Sweet Sixteen I have #1 Stanford over #5 UNC, and #2 Xavier over #3 UCLA. In the Elite Eight I have #1 Stanford over #2 Xavier.

Headed to the Final Four: #1 Stanford

Dayton Region

In the Round of 64 I have #1 Tennessee over #16 Stetson, #8 Marquette over #9 Texas, #5 Georgia Tech over #12 Bowling Green, #4 Ohio State over #13 Central Florida (UCF), #6 Oklahoma over #11 James Madison, #3 Miami (Florida) over #14 Gardner-Webb University, #7 Arizona State over #10 Temple, and #2 Notre Dame over #15 Utah. In the Round of 32 I have #1 Tennessee over #8 Marquette, #4 Ohio State over #5 Georgia Tech, #6 Oklahoma over #3 Miami (Florida), and #2 Notre Dame over #7 Arizona State. In the Sweet Sixteen I have #1 Tennessee over #4 Ohio State, and #2 Notre Dame over #6 Oklahoma. I have #1 Tennessee over #2 Notre Dame in the Elite Eight.

Headed to the Final Four: #1 Tennessee

Dallas Region

In the Round of 64, I have #1 Baylor over #16 Prairie View A&M, #9 West Virginia over #8 Houston, #5 Green Bay over #12 Arkansas-Little Rock, #4 Michigan State over #13 Northern Iowa, #6 Georgia over #11 Middle Tennessee, #3 Florida State over Samford, #7 Rutgers over #10 Louisiana State, and #2 Texas A&M over #15 McNeese State. In the Round of 32 I have #1 Baylor over #9 West Virginia, #4 Michigan State over #5 Green Bay, #3 Florida State over #6 Georgia, and #2 Texas A&M over #7 Rutgers. In the Sweet Sixteen I have #1 Baylor over #4 Michigan State, and #2 Texas A&M over #3 Florida State.

Headed to the Final Four: #1 Baylor

Analysis

What do you know, President Obama and I each had the same Final Four picks. Like I said in the introduction, there isn’t much competition for the top seeds, UConn, Tennessee, Baylor, and Stanford. I said this before in the men’s preview, and I’ll say it again. If you want to skip past the analysis and go straight to the rest of the picks, by all means, do so. I don’t think anyone would be surprised if all four #1 seeds make it to Houston, the site of this year’s Final Four. I didn’t pick many upsets, just a few little ones here and there, nothing really major. Women’s College Basketball has groups, as I like to call it. There are the four or so favorites, and then there are the other programs. UConn, Tennessee, Baylor, and Stanford are those elite programs, and that’s why no one is surprised to see them as #1 seeds in this tournament year after year after year. Now, I could go on about this, but let’s get to the good stuff: My Final Four/National Championship picks, shall we?

Final Four predicted results

In the Final Four, I have UConn over Tennessee, and Bylor over Stanford. Here are my predicted scores.

UConn: 70

Tennessee: 62

Baylor:65

Stanford: 59

Predicted National Championship results

I have UConn beating Baylor in the Championship. Here comes the sigh from all other Women’s College Basketball fans around the country who don’t like UConn. My score.

UC0nn: 67

Baylor: 63

Final Thoughts

It’ll definitely be fun to watch, the Final Four. The top seeds fighting it out for supremacy? What is better than that? So I predict UConn takes home the title for the third consecutive year, largely in part to standout Maya Moore, who’ll definitely star in the WNBA in a few years. For fans of other teams, not the top seeds, just hope and pray that your team will somehow pull off a few stunning upsets. And for fans of the top seeds, relax, you’ve got nothing to be scared of. And with that, have a great time watching the 2011 Women’s NCAA Tournament!

This entry was posted in Women's College Basketball, Women's College Basketball: Opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

