Novak Djokovic wins his second Australian Open title

#3 seed Novak Djokovic has defeated #5 seed and British hope Andy Murray in straight sets, 6-4, 6-2, 6-3. The Serbian continued his impressive run and won his second Australian Open title, the first coming in 2008, previously his only Grand Slam win. This was Murray’s third Grand Slam final, and third Grand Slam final loss, also losing to Roger Federer in the 2010 Australian Open. Djokovic beat Federer en route to the final. Murray was attempting to be the first British Grand Slam winner since 1936, 75 years ago. The retractable roof at Rod Laver Arena was closed for most of the day due to high temperatures, but by the time Murray-Djokovic match started, the air was much cooler. After theclose first set, the match seemed like it would be a close one. It was not to be. Murray was down 5-0 at one point in the second set and looked overmatched by Djokovic.

This entry was posted in Tennis, Tennis: Latest News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s