Auburn wins National Championship

Auburn has defeated Oregon to win the BCS National Championship Monday Night, 22-19. Heisman Trophy winner Cameron Newton wasn’t at his best, but nonetheless played well, throwing for 265 yards and 2 touchdowns. But he was overshadowed by running back Michael Dyer, who ran for 143 yards and set up the game winning field goal as time expired for the Tigers. Heisman candidate LaMichael James struggled, as Auburn held him to only 49 yards on the night. With 2 minutes and 33 seconds remaining, Oregon tied the game with a receiving touchdown from James. Dyer then broke out for a 37-yard run, then kicker Wes Bynum kicked a 19 yard field goal through the uprights to send Auburn to its first National Championship since 1957. Interesting fact: The SEC, or South Eastern Conference, has won the last 5 National Championships.

This entry was posted in College Football, College Football: Latest News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s